Colour and Textile Science

Search site

People

Directors

Prof Long Lin
Professor of Colour and Polymer Science
T: +44 (0)113 343 9107/6735
L.Lin@leeds.ac.uk 

Keywords: Dyes, pigments, polymers, textile coloration, hair coloration, printing, medical diagnostic biosensors, printed electronics, inks and coatings formulations

Prof Stephen Russell
Professor of Textile Materials and Technology
T: +44 (0)113 343 3705
s.j.russell@leeds.ac.uk  

Keywords: Nonwovens, textile science, biomaterials, textile manufacturing, structure-property relationships, textile product design and engineering, consumer, healthcare, industrial sectors, product design and development.

Members

Dr Palitha Bandara
T: +44 (0)113 343 3786
M.P.U.Bandara@leeds.ac.uk     

Keywords:
Instrumentation, smart materials, smart textiles, textile mechatronics, weaving machines, woven fabric structure.

Dr Richard Blackburn
T: +44 (0)113 343 3757
ccdrsb@leeds.ac.uk      

Keywords:
 Colorants, colour physics, colour relationships, domestic laundering formulations, dyes, finishing industries, kinetics, measurement of colour, polymers, substrates, sustainability, synthetic and natural fibres, textiles, thermodynamics

Michael Brookes
Technician
T: +44 (0)113 343 3787
M.A.Brookes@leeds.ac.uk       

Keywords:
 Microscopy, microscopic analysis of textile and related materials.

Prof Stephen Burkinshaw
Professor of Textile Chemistry
T: +44 (0)113 343 3700
S.M.Burkinshaw@leeds.ac.uk     

Keywords:
Application of dyes and pigments, colour measurement, textile finishing, Xeros

Dr Bruce Carnie
Lecturer
T: +44 (0)113 343 3777
B.W.Carnie@leeds.ac.uk     

Keywords:
Textile design and mass customisation, textile design and sustainable technology, textile design futures.

Prof Chris Carr
Professor of Textile Technology
T: +44 (0)113 343 3094
C.Carr@leeds.ac.uk    

Keywords:
Conservation science, colouration, textile chemistry, textile science, fibres, finishing, healthcare textiles, historical textiles, recycling, surface chemistry

Prof Tom Cassidy
Professor of Design
T: +44 (0)113 343 3750
T.Cassidy@leeds.ac.uk     

Keywords:
Textile and fashion design technology, 3D simulation of textile yarns, control of woollen yarn moisture regain, design technology and design management.

Dr Vien Cheung
T: +44 (0)113 343 5590
T.L.V.Cheung@leeds.ac.uk

Keywords:
Colour vision, spectral imaging, colour reproduction, imaging technology, colour science

Dr Vedran Durasevic
T: +44 (0)113 343 3654
V.Durasevic@leeds.ac.uk

Keywords: Dyeing and printing technologies for textiles; Kinetics of dyeing;
Applied photochromism and thermochromism; Conductive inks; Treatment of colour rich effluents

 

Dr Elaine Durham
T: +44 (0)113 343 3799
E.R.Durham@leeds.ac.uk     

Keywords: Medical textiles, tissue engineering, nonwovens, technical textiles, sustainability, design for disassembly, biomimetic textiles, knit technology

Dr Parikshit Goswami
T: +44 (0)113 343 3717
P.Goswami@leeds.ac.uk 

Keywords:
Medical textiles, nonwovens, textile coloration, finishing technology, sustainability, colouration, materials science, textile technology,green chemistry, technical textiles, fibre science, polymer chemistry, cellulose science

Dr Murat Gulcur
T: +44 (0)113 343 4992 
M.Gulcur@leeds.ac.uk 

Keywords: Carbon-rich systems; organic and molecular electronics; synthesis of small molecule and polymeric semiconductors; quantum dots functionalisation

Prof Jim Guthrie
T: +44 (0)113 343 2934
J.Guthrie@leeds.ac.uk 

Keywords:
Copolymers, composites, blends, synthesis, characterisation, applications, functional polymers, polymer functionalisation, biomedical, biotechnological, polymeric materials, cosmetic formulations, drug delivery systems

Dr Daniel Hall
T: +44 (0)113 343 3654
D.J.Hall@leeds.ac.uk

Keywords: Functional materials, polymer chemistry, synthesis, characterisation, biomaterials, dyes, pigments, coating formulation.

Lucinda Harris
T: +44 (0)113 343 3777
L.M.Clements@leeds.ac.uk

Keywords: Textile design, fashion and interior markets, advanced digital printing, fabric laser cutting.

Dr Wei He
T: +44 (0)113 343 6688
W.He@leeds.ac.uk

Keywords: Dyes, pigments, specialty colorants, organic synthesis, polymers, textile coloration, hair coloration, coatings and inks formulation, anti-counterfeit technologies

Dr Christine Holdstock
T: +44 (0)113 343 6736
C.Holdstock@leeds.ac.uk

Les Johnson
T: +44 (0)113 343 3702
L.Johnson@leeds.ac.uk

Keywords: Textile material characterisation, chemical analysis, thermal analysis, FTIR spectroscopy, polymer melt spinning.

  

Dr Algy Kazlauciunas
T: +44 (0)113 343 2939
A.Kazlauciunas@leeds.ac.uk

Mr Trevor Lambourne
Commercial Manager
T: +44 (0)113 343 2792
T.Lambourne@leeds.ac.uk  

Keywords: Commercialisation, industrial collaboration, funding, marketing, printing, colour management, functional materials, bio sensors, security printing, high value chemistriy manufacture, particle and pigment chemistry, encapsulation, robotics, 3D fabrication printing

Prof Ronnier Luo
Professor of Colour and Imaging Science
T: +44 (0)113 343 3728
M.R.Luo@leeds.ac.uk  

Keywords: Colour specification, colour difference evaluation, colour appearance modelling, imaging science (device characterisation, cross-media colour reproduction, colour management), colour and appearance measurement (metrology, digital imaging systems for measuring colour and appearance).

Dr Ningtao Mao
T: +44 (0)113 343 3792
N.Mao@leeds.ac.uk     

Keywords:
 Fibrous materials, functional clothing, liquid wetting, wicking, fibrous assemblies, fluid-fibre-particle interactions, fluid transport, heat transfer, nonwoven, nano-fibre composites, natural fibres, technical textiles

Dr Peter Rhodes
T: +44 (0)113 343 5590
P.A.Rhodes@leeds.ac.uk  

Keywords:
 Colour communications, notation systems, digital communications, colorimetric data, computer graphics, visualisation, colour order systems, VR simulation, software development, ColourTalk, DigiEye

Dr Muriel Rigout
M.L.Rigout@leeds.ac.uk

Keywords:
 Novel colour effects for textiles, inkjet printing of textiles, sustainable/green textile colouration and processing, reactive dye chemistry, easy-care finishing, colouration of eco-friendly fibres.

Mr Stephen Scales
Faculty Marketing Manager
T: +44 (0)113 343 5254
S.D.Scales@leeds.ac.uk

Keywords: Marketing, communications, printing

Jane Scott
T: +44 (0)113 343 3801
J.C.Scott@leeds.ac.uk    

Keywords:
Constructed textile design, responsive textiles, knitted fabric structure, knit technology, biomimicry.

Dr Natalia Sergeeva
T: +44 (0)113 343 7553
N.Sergeeva@leeds.ac.uk   

Keywords: Biological colorants; Fluorescent dyes; Organic chromophores; Chromic materials; Organic nanomaterials; Photomedicine; Photodynamic therapy

Dr Pammi Sinha
T: +44 (0)113 343 3715
P.K.Sihha@leeds.ac.uk   

Keywords: Interface between textile design and technology, sustainable development in developing economies, global dimensions of textile management, end-of-life management of clothing.

Dr Mark Sumner
T: +44 (0)113 343 3710 
M.P.Sumner@leeds.ac.uk

Keywords:
Sustainable textiles, circular economy, environmental, social impact, waste reduction 

Dr Kelvin Tapley
T: +44 (0)113 343 6732
K.Tapley@leeds.ac.uk   

Keywords:
Analysis, colorants, environmental, polymers

Dr Mark Taylor
T: +44 (0)113 343 3727 
M.Taylor@leeds.ac.uk 

Keywords:
 Comfort, protection, clothing systems, waterproof, impact absorption, sports protectors, firefighter clothing systems, biomimetic textiles, superadhesion, data logging sensors, moisture vapour transmission

Dr Paul Thornton
T: +44 (0)113 343 2935
P.D.Thornton@leeds.ac.uk   

Keywords:
Polymer chemistry; Materials chemistry; Biomaterials; Macromolecular self-assembly; Surface functionalisation; Enzyme-responsive materials

Dr Giuseppe Tronci
T: +44 (0)113 343 8779 
G.Tronci@leeds.ac.uk 

Keywords:
 Biomimetic systems, clinical functionalities, wound care, regenerative medicine, degradable polymers, drug release, macromolecular materials, biomaterials

Mr Fengbin Wang
T: +44 (0)113 343 2946 
F.Wang@leeds.ac.uk 

Keywords: Formulations, printed electronics

Mr Simon Wellings
T: +44 (0)113 343 3654 
s.c.wellings@leeds.ac.uk 

Keywords: Printable lithium ion batteries; ionically conductive polymer gel electrolytes; extrusion-lamination; Differential Scanning Calorimetry; parallel-plate rheology; polyacrylamides, comb polymers 

Prof Stephen Westland
Professor of Colour Science and Technology
T: +44 (0)113 343 3752
S.Westland@leeds.ac.uk

Keywords:
Colour measurement, colour design, colour imaging, colour vision

Dinah Wharton
Knowledge Transfer Manager
T: +44 (0)113 343 3758
D.J.Wharton@leeds.ac.uk  

Keywords:
 Textile training, industrial textile, continuing professional Education, nonwovens network.

VISITING PROFESSORS

Prof. Alan Brydon – textile technology and instrumental measurement
Prof. Sergei Grishanov – textile engineering
Prof. John Hutchins – colour and appearance
Prof. Gerald Leaf – textile mathematics and statistics
Prof. David Lewis – textile dyeing and finishing
Prof. Michael Pointer – colour measurement
Prof. Barry Whitaker – textile manufacturing